优尚待客 20 载

新加坡富丽敦酒店 20 年来为旅客创造亚洲优尚款待体验,在前新加坡邮政总局大楼呈现新概念,开创富丽敦品牌

「新加坡富丽敦酒店与新加坡的历史和发展紧扣在一起,结合今昔与未来。我们竭诚款待客人、连系社群,携手缔造美好回忆,保育国家古迹,同时向国内以至全球各地的宾客,展示这座广受欢迎的地标和它的丰富历史。」
— 信和集团副主席黄永光

新加坡富丽敦酒店于 2001 年 1 月 1 日揭幕,为新加坡优尚酒店体验翻开新篇章。酒店所处大楼建成于 1928 年,属新古典主义地标建筑,新加坡国家文物局更于 2015 年 12 月刊宪列为新加坡第 71 座国家法定古迹,是国家最高规格的荣誉。酒店大楼曾为邮政总局及供新加坡俱乐部和不同政府部门使用,见证丰富历史。

大楼屹立新加坡河河口近百年,共有 5 个外立面,多立克式巨形柱廊高两层,外墙饰有古典雕塑,由瑞士雕塑家 Rudolf Wening 和意大利雕塑家 Cavaliere Rudolfo Nolli 匠心设计,外观宏伟堂皇。大楼落成时已配备现代化设施,包括 14 部电梯,以及邮局内的自动邮件分类设备。邮局位于地库、1楼和2楼,邮局之上为新加坡俱乐部,其中拱形格子天花板在新加坡独一无二,至今仍然完好保存于海峡厅。

1996 年,新加坡政府宣布计划把大楼改建成酒店。其后,信和集团收购这座建筑和毗邻的海滨地皮,并结合一系列历史地标 —— 新加坡富丽敦酒店、富丽敦船屋、红灯码头和前海关大楼,再加上全新发展项目,包括新加坡富丽敦海湾酒店、富丽敦一号和富丽敦莲亭,建构世界级临海地段富丽敦天地,为滨海湾更添魅力。

这座新古典主义地标建筑于 2015 年 12 月获刊宪为新加坡第 71 个国家法定古迹,是国家文物及建筑保育方面最高规格的表彰
富丽敦品牌不断发展,扩至富丽敦天地荟萃古今的海滨建筑。红灯码头餐厅从熙来攘往的历史码头,变成汇聚本土及国际食府的热门景点

新加坡富丽敦酒店是率先启用的地标,提供 400 间豪华客房,由知名建筑公司 Hirsch Bedner & Associates(HBA)悉心设计。酒店的开业亦为富丽敦品牌揭开序幕,及后品牌不断扩展,新加坡富丽敦海湾酒店、悉尼富丽敦酒店相继开业,还有即将于 2022 年开幕的香港富丽敦海洋公园酒店。

富丽敦天地致力文物保育,并获新加坡市区重建局颁发建筑文物大奖。富丽敦集团总经理 Cavaliere Giovanni Viterale 表示:「我们不仅重视建筑元素,同时透过历史文物展览和免费文化导赏团,承传珍贵传统及保存美好回忆。」

20 年来,富丽敦品牌持续发展,成为优尚款待的代名词,为旅客提供细意殷勤的服务。Cavaliere Giovanni 说:「富丽敦品牌的独特之处在于我们由心出发,真诚好客,热情欢迎富丽敦酒店每一位宾客,让他们感到宾至如归。我们提供雍容礼遇和诚意款待,让旅客留下美好回忆和编写自家富丽敦故事。」

Cavaliere Giovanni 很高兴见证酒店不断蜕变,与业界一起成长,聚焦「新派奢华」和「真实体验」。他认为旅客追求「独特且真实的地道体验」,而非只是住宿连早餐服务。当旅客到访某个城市,他们希望亲身了解当地文化、饮食、历史、艺术、工艺和人民。透过结合文化与服务,新加坡富丽敦酒店及其姊妹酒店将继续提供尊尚酒店体验,让旅客由此展开奇妙旅程。

富丽敦今昔

2001
1 月 1 日,时任总理吴作栋先生为新加坡富丽敦酒店揭幕
大楼修复工作荣获新加坡市区重建局颁发建筑文物大奖
2010
新加坡富丽敦海湾 酒店于 7 月揭幕
新加坡富丽敦酒店的富丽敦天地历史文化展览馆启用
2011
新加坡富丽敦酒店举行「Post a Memory」征集活动,庆祝酒店开业 10 周年,收集旅客和当地人分享有关酒店的难忘回忆
2012
富丽敦酒店推出「富丽敦天地导赏团」及「海事之旅」主题导赏团,让访客了解滨海湾区的丰富历史与新加坡的发展紧扣在一起
2013
红灯码头是早期移民来到新加坡的首个落脚点,为庆祝红灯码头 80 周年,富丽敦天地举办《红灯码头:心之归航》展览会及《Yesterday Once More》明信片展览
2014
红灯码头活化为餐厅 The Clifford Pier 并正式开幕,保留建筑物原有特色和魅力

2015
新加坡富丽敦酒店举办一系列庆祝活动和提供多项礼遇,庆祝新加坡建国 50 周年
大楼于 12 月被刊宪列为新加坡第 71 个国家法定古迹
2018
为庆祝大楼 90 周年志庆,举行首届 Fullerton Concours d’Elegance 经典名车展,展览饶富趣味、大小同乐
成立「富丽敦学堂」计划为基层家庭的年轻人提供酒店服务业的学习和培训机会,履行企业社会责任

感谢团队敬业乐业,新加坡两家富丽敦酒店以卓越服务,于全国及全球各地屡获殊荣。由 2018 年至 2020 年,富丽敦酒店连续 3 年荣获《悦游 Condé Nast Traveler》杂志的「读者之选」评选为新加坡 3 大酒店之一,而富丽敦海湾酒店则于 2019 年度及 2020 年度 TripAdvisor 的年度盛事 Travellers’ Choice 大奖中,被评为新加坡最佳酒店。

更多文章

记取时代蜕变

信和集团、黄廷方慈善基金和历史遗珍摄影基金会联合呈献《1950 年代摄影作品展:玛乔丽 · 多格特镜头下的新加坡 李福志镜头下的香港》。

— 文化传承

阅读更多 »

环保色彩

著名芬兰艺术家 Riitta Kuisma 一向注重环保,最近为香港黄金海岸酒店绘制了缤纷美丽的壁画。

— 文化传承

阅读更多 »

Celebrating 20 Years of Refined Hospitality

The Fullerton Hotel Singapore is celebrating 20 years of fine Asian hospitality, presenting a new concept in Singapore’s former General Post Office and inaugurating the Fullerton brand

‘The Fullerton Hotel Singapore is steeped in history and is dear to the Singapore community. It weaves the past, present and future together. As custodian of one of Singapore’s national treasures, we seek to provide guests with signature hospitality and bring the community together to create fond memories, while showing this much-loved landmark and its storied heritage to wider audiences nationally and internationally.’
— Daryl Ng, Deputy Chairman, Sino Group

Opened on 1 January 2001, The Fullerton Hotel Singapore heralded a new chapter for refined hospitality in Singapore. The ‘Grande Dame’ makes her home in the former Fullerton Building, a magnificent neoclassical landmark completed in 1928 that was gazetted in December 2015 as Singapore’s 71st National Monument, the highest form of national recognition. The building’s storied history includes uses as the General Post Office, the prestigious Singapore Club and various government departments.

Making its mark on Singapore’s history for close to a century, the building stands at the estuary of the Singapore River, its five frontages and colossal two-storey Doric colonnade forming an impressive façade adorned with ornate classical decorations by Swiss sculptor Rudolf Wening and Italian sculptor Cavaliere Rudolfo Nolli. At the time of its completion, modern facilities within the building included 14 lifts and automated mail-sorting equipment for the post office, which occupied the basement and the first two floors of the building. The upper floors were reserved for the Singapore Club’s facilities, and included a vaulted coffered ceiling. Reputed to be the only one of its kind in Singapore, this unique feature can still be seen today in The Straits Room.

In 1996, the Singapore Government announced plans to turn the building into a hotel. The building and its adjacent waterfront plots were acquired by Sino Group, and a collection of heritage landmarks — The Fullerton Hotel Singapore, The Fullerton Waterboat House, Clifford Pier and Customs House — forms the world-class The Fullerton Heritage, with new developments, namely The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore, One Fullerton and The Fullerton Pavilion, added to the enchanting precinct by Marina Bay.

The iconic neo-classical building was gazetted as Singapore’s 71st National Monument in December 2015, signifying the nation’s highest recognition for a building
The Fullerton brand has since expanded to multiple waterfront properties in The Fullerton Heritage, which blends modern chic with heritage charm. The Clifford Pier restaurant has been rejuvenated from a bustling historic pier, and is now a compelling port of call in its own right thanks to its local and international fare

The beautifully presented 400-room The Fullerton Hotel Singapore was the first of the restored icons to open, following a thorough revitalisation and careful redesign by international architecture firm HBA/Hirsch Bedner Associates. The hotel’s launch also inaugurated the Fullerton brand, expanded to include The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore, The Fullerton Hotel Sydney, and soon The Fullerton Ocean Park Hotel Hong Kong, set to open in 2022.

Heritage preservation is a hallmark of the properties, and the building received an architectural heritage award from Singapore’s Urban Redevelopment Authority. ‘Not only was attention paid to the built elements, but the history and memories are preserved through elements such as archive displays and complimentary heritage tours,’ says Cavaliere Giovanni Viterale, General Manager of The Fullerton Hotels and Resorts.

The past 20 years have seen the hotel morphing into a brand synonymous with refined hospitality for discerning travellers. ‘Part of what makes the Fullerton brand unique is that we believe in hospitality from the heart,’ says Cavaliere Giovanni. ‘Every guest who walks through the doors of The Fullerton Hotel will experience The Fullerton Hotel’s welcome and feel at home. We provide luxury hospitality that comes from the heart, and genuinely warm services as our guests create their own fond memories and stories while staying with us.’

Cavaliere Giovanni is glad to have experienced, both in the hotel’s evolution and in the hotel industry more generally, a renewed focus on providing ‘new luxury and authentic experiences’. Guests, he says, look for ‘unique, authentic local experiences instead of the usual bed-and-breakfast experience. When staying in a city, they want to get up close to learn about the local culture, cuisine, heritage, arts, crafts and people.’ With their unique combination of heritage and service, The Fullerton Hotel Singapore and its sister properties continue to provide refined bases from which to begin this wondrous journey.

Walking Down The Fullerton Memory Lane

2001
The Fullerton Hotel Singapore is officially opened on 1 January by the then-Prime Minister of Singapore, Mr Goh Chok Tong
The building restoration receives an architectural heritage award from the Urban Redevelopment Authority
2010
The Fullerton Bay Hotel opens in July
The Fullerton Heritage Gallery opens in The Fullerton Hotel Singapore
2011
The Fullerton Hotel Singapore celebrates its 10th anniversary, and launches the ‘Post a Memory’ contest for visitors and locals to share their favourite memories of the hotel
2012
The hotel launches The Fullerton Heritage Guided Tour and A Maritime Journey Tour, offering guests the opportunity to learn about the precinct’s rich history that is intertwined with the development of Singapore
2013
The Fullerton Heritage hosts the Clifford Pier: A Place in Our Hearts exhibition and Yesterday Once More postcard exhibition to commemorate the 80th anniversary of Clifford Pier, the first port of call for immigrants in the early days of Singapore
2014
The Clifford Pier restaurant opens at the restored Clifford Pier, while keeping its original architectural features and charm
2015
The Fullerton Hotel Singapore hosts a programme of celebrations and offers in honour of SG50, Singapore’s Golden Jubilee
The former Fullerton Building is gazetted as Singapore’s 71st National Monument in December
2018
The 90th anniversary of the Fullerton building sees the launch of the inaugural Fullerton Concours d’Elegance, a fun automotive and family event
Corporate social responsibility initiative The Fullerton Academy is launched to provide underprivileged youth with mentorship and apprenticeship opportunities in the hospitality industry
With teams of professional and dedicated staff, the two Fullerton Hotels in Singapore have won a good number of national and international awards for service excellence. The Fullerton Hotel Singapore was named among Singapore’s top three hotels in Condé Nast Traveler’s Readers’ Choice Awards for three consecutive years from 2018 to 2020, while The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore was awarded number one hotel in Singapore in 2019 and 2020 in the annual Traveller’s Choice Awards by TripAdvisor.

See Further

A Defining Decade Remembered

Sino Group, the Ng Teng Fong Charitable Foundation and the Photographic Heritage Foundation are jointly presenting the exhibition Photographs from the 1950s: Marjorie Doggett’s Singapore, Lee Fook Chee’s Hong Kong.

— Heritage & Culture

Read More »

Environmental Murals

Riitta Kuisma, an acclaimed Finnish artist whose works often display a strong affinity with nature, has recently completed a mural at Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel.

— Heritage & Culture

Read More »