創科護眼展前程

「視覺對學習和個人成長非常關鍵,這項計劃對於兒童發展有莫大裨益,亦與我們建立全面創科生態系統,支持香港長遠發展的願景不謀而合。是次合作印證創科可成就無限可能,為社會帶來正面影響。」
— 香港創新基金主席黃永光

眼睛是靈魂之窗,對小孩學習尤為重要。現代生活容易令小孩患上近視,而治療近視的費用往往為基層家庭帶來吃力的財政負擔。

香港理工大學與日本豪雅光學(Hoya)共同研發的多區正向光學離焦(DIMS)眼鏡鏡片,經驗證能控制近視加深的速度,為近視學童帶來新希望。發明曾榮獲多個重要獎項,更於 2018 年 4 月於瑞士日內瓦舉辦的第 46 屆國際發明展勇奪全場總冠軍、特別大獎及評判特別嘉許金獎 3 項大獎。臨床研究結果顯示 DIMS 眼鏡鏡片有效減慢學童近視加深速度達 59% ,其中更有超過 20% 學童完全停止加深近視。

集團旗下香港創新基金與香港理工大學攜手,展開為期兩年的「香港理工大學-香港創新基金兒童護眼計劃」,幫助基層家庭的兒童控制近視。基金贊助 200 位學童佩戴 DIMS 眼鏡,並會每半年跟進視光檢查。

DIMS如何運作?

近視是指影象不是正確地投射在眼球視網膜上,而是在視網膜前方,導致影像不清晰。DIMS 鏡片中央的周邊區採用多區域微透鏡設計,於視網膜前方提供額外的對焦平面,有助減輕近視。另外,DIMS 鏡片亦利用眼球的自然反饋機制,調節接收對焦影像的反應,有效引導眼球生長,延緩近視加深。

更多文章

Visionary Approach

‘Eyesight is essential to learning and personal growth. This project is conducive to children’s development and resonates with our vision of building a holistic innovation ecosystem to support Hong Kong’s growth in the long run’
— Daryl Ng, Chairman, Hong Kong Innovation Foundation

— Innovation

Vision underpins many elements of our lives; for children, it’s a critical part of learning. Modern city life makes children even more prone to myopia, the treatment of which is often costly for those from underprivileged families.

A new invention jointly developed by The Hong Kong Polytechnic University and Japanese company Hoya Vision offers hope. The Defocus Incorporated Multiple Segments (DIMS) spectacle lens has been proven to control the progression of myopia. It won the Grand Prize, Grand Award and Gold Medal at the 46th International Exhibition of Inventions of Geneva, Switzerland, in April 2018, in addition to a host of other coveted awards. Clinical trials of DIMS show that children’s myopia progression has been reduced by an average of 59 per cent, with more than 20 per cent of children not showing any progression at all.

The Hong Kong Innovation Foundation collaborated with The Hong Kong Polytechnic  University on the PolyU-HKIF Children Eye Care Project. The project came to life with the vision of empowering more children from underprivileged families: through its two-year  programme, 200 students will be prescribed DIMS spectacles, and optical check-ups conducted every six months to track progress.

How Does DIMS Work?

In a myopic eye, light rays focus in front of the retina rather than on it, making images blurry. DIMS uses micro-engineered segments around the centre of the lens to generate an additional focal plane in front of the retina, which can retard myopia. Moreover, the lens makes use of the eye’s natural ability to adapt and shape to receive focused images, in effect guiding the growth of the eyeball in a positive way.

See Further

Building a Smarter Future

Our path to the future is paved with technology. The Group is committed to supporting Hong Kong’s growth into an international innovation and technology hub, and is striving to foster a culture of innovation.

— Innovation

Read More »

Genetic Breakthrough Brings Hope

Codex Genetics, a winner of the Spirit of Hong Kong Innovation Award in 2019, has developed a breakthrough genetic screening approach to help people suffering from neurological diseases.

— Innovation

Read More »