基因測試突破

Codex Genetics 研發的基因測試技術帶來突破,為神經系統疾病患者爭取最佳治療時機,榮獲 2019 年度香港精神獎「創新為社群獎」
Codex Genetics 創辦人余志承(左)與嚴基元(右)發展基因測試服務,顯著加快罕見神經系統疾病的測試速度,榮獲 2019 年香港精神獎「創新為社群獎」

《南華早報》和信和集團自 2013 年攜手呈獻香港精神獎,表揚本地無名英雄。

當中,「創新為社群獎」表揚研發創新科技的個人或團隊,肯定其為社會帶來深遠而正面的影響。2019 年度的「創新為社群獎」由生物資訊科技公司 Codex Genetics 奪得,他們研發的基因測試能有助提升篩查罕見疾病的效率。

公司創辦人余志承(Allen)與嚴基元(Aldrin)在大學時相識,他們一同修讀香港中文大學生物化學系,共同研究一組罕見的腦部遺傳病——脊髓小腦運動失調症(俗稱「小腦萎縮症」)。Allen 專注研究癌症和神經系統疾病,而 Aldrin 則專注免疫學。當時他們已討論如何運用各自專注的學科知識,希望為小腦萎縮症等罕見神經系統疾病的患者改善醫療環境。

 

「我們每日在實驗室都會處理大量疾病數據,其實數字背後,每一組數據都代表一個故事。與其埋首研究基因序列,我們希望利用收集所得的資訊及專業知識,不僅用於撰寫學術報告,而是實踐所學,幫助病人。」Aldrin 分享道。

罕見神經退化疾病十分複雜,要在病發初期時確診極具挑戰,因此基因測試是最理想的辨識方法。然而,基因測試成本高昂,政府資助額有限,未能惠及所有有需要人士。此外,病人在確診前無法獲得任何政府資助,亦不能從保險公司索償醫療費用,他們可能因此無法及時獲得適切治療。

「由於過程涉及不同醫生、專科部門的轉介及不同的診斷測試,由病人首次出現臨床病徵到確診,一般歷時 5 至 15 年。」Aldrin 補充。「等到那個時候,病人可能需要輪椅代步,甚至已經卧床。及早偵測神經系統疾病,有助病人更快獲得適切治療,更有效地控制病情,從而提升他們的生活質素,亦可延長壽命。」

2013 年,余志承與嚴基元一起創辦 Codex Genetics ,利用人工智能分析科技,結合基因及臨床數據,制定全面可行的臨床病情控制方案,重點協助患有遺傳病的病人。他們亦研發了突破性的基因測試系統 CoGensis™ ,
配合他們的專業數據分析,一個月內就能得出極準確的測試結果,成本更相宜,等候時間亦更短。

「神經退化疾病的變化一般很緩慢,因此及早得到準確的診斷,有助病人獲得更切合病情的治療,讓他們能夠規劃家庭和人生。」Allen 講解道。「CoGensis™ 的測試方式不但提供準確的診斷,同時能預計罕見疾病的變化,填補醫療專家及病人之間的資訊空隙。只要及早確診,病人就能因而作出適當規劃,如生兒育女等人生大事,或在有需要時接受職業治療。」

Allen 與 Aldrin 已將 Codex 拓展至確診後癌症測試,以更有效地控制病情。他們也快將擴充實驗室,進一步縮短測試時間,並且提高認證級別。

Allen 說:「『創新為社群獎』為我們帶來更多肯定和資源,同時提高普羅大眾對罕見神經退化疾病的意識,希望能夠啟發更多人參與創新科技,改寫基因測試的未來。」

CODEX COGENESIS™ 神經系統基因測試

診斷神經退化疾病極具挑戰,而且需時很久。CoGenesis™ 針對與 200 種神經退化疾病相關的 462 組基因,加快診斷過程至兩個月,亦能令測試結果更準確。

首先,Codex Genetics 會將 CoGensis™ 測試工具送到病人或臨床醫生手上,收集病人的唾液樣本,封妥後送到 Codex Genetics 實驗室,從中抽出病人基因,再進行高通量基因測試。透過分析病人基因序列,Codex Genetics 團隊能夠將診斷範圍縮減至最可能的一個或兩個疾病。然後,檢測結果將會送回病人的臨床醫生手上,由臨床醫生進行一系列驗證測試,進一步確診。

Codex Genetics 採用由大數據技術得來的基因資訊,配合臨床證據如磁力共振、X 光及超聲波影像,得出更為準確的數據,取代臨床醫生、專科醫生和病人之間的反覆測試,加快診斷過程,同時讓病人更有效控制病情。

更多文章

Genetic Breakthrough Brings Hope

Codex Genetics, a winner of the Spirit of Hong Kong Innovation Award in 2019, has developed a breakthrough genetic screening approach to help people suffering from neurological diseases.

— Innovation

Codex Genetics founders Allen Yu (left) and Aldrin Yim (right) won the Spirit of Innovation Award at the 2019 Spirit of Hong Kong Awards for their breakthrough in genetic testing for rare neurodegenerative diseases

Since 2013, the South China Morning Post and Sino Group have been paying tribute to the city’s unsung heroes through the Spirit of Hong Kong Awards.

One of the categories, the Spirit of Innovation Award, recognises individuals or groups that have developed breakthrough technologies with far-reaching, positive impacts on society. The winner of the 2019 innovation category went to bioinformatics company Codex Genetics for its efforts in improving the efficiency of the genetic screening process, an evaluation method that is particularly critical for patients suffering from rare diseases.

The company’s founders Allen Yu and Aldrin Yim met when they studied biochemistry at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, researching a group of rare hereditary brain diseases known Spinocerebellar Ataxia (SCA). Allen was researching cancer and neurological diseases at the time, and Aldrin was specialising in immunology. They came together to discuss how they could best apply their academic knowledge to help patients with rare neurological conditions such as SCA.

‘At the laboratory, we handle human disease data sets every day,’ says Aldrin. ‘But I was aware that behind every data set, a patient’s life was at stake. Rather than just study DNA sequencing, we wanted to use the information we gathered to help people. We wanted to do more than just write academic papers — we wanted to translate our knowledge into practice.’

‘At the laboratory, we handle human disease data sets every day. But I was aware that behind every data set, a patient’s life was at stake. Rather than just study DNA sequencing, we wanted to use the information we gathered to help people. We wanted to do more than just write academic papers — we wanted to translate our knowledge into practice.’
— Aldrim Yim, Co-founder, Codex Genetics

One of the biggest challenges with rare neurodegenerative diseases is that their complexity makes them difficult to diagnose at their onset, so genetic screening is the best way to detect them. However, genetic screening is an expensive procedure, and government funding unfortunately cannot provide the service for everyone who may need it. In addition, until a diagnosis has been made, the patient is unable to receive any government subsidies or reimbursements from their insurance providers, which might deprive them of the treatments they require.

‘Because of all the referrals and the back and forth between different doctors and medical departments, as well as the different clinical diagnostic tests required, it usually takes between five and fifteen years from the time that the first clinical symptoms show up in a patient to when a final diagnosis can be made,’ says Aldrin. ‘By that time, the patient might already be in a wheelchair or bedridden. Early detection can help patients get better access to healthcare and more effective disease management solutions, which will in turn improve their quality and span of life.’

In 2013, Allen and Aldrin founded Codex Genetics on an AI-powered analytics technology that combines genetic and clinical data to provide holistic, clinically actionable disease management solutions, with a focus on helping patients with genetic disorders. They also developed a breakthrough genetic screening test system, CoGensis™, which together with their analytics delivers highly accurate results within one month from the time of testing, reducing waiting time significantly in addition to making testing affordable.

By integrating genetic information gathered through big data techniques with clinical evidence such as MRI imaging, X-rays and ultrasounds, Codex screening produces more precise data; through this, it bridges the gaps between clinicians, specialists and patients to speed up the diagnostic process and enable more effective disease management.

All degenerative diseases have a slow progression, so more precise and earlier diagnosis not only helps patients get better- targeted treatment, but can also help them with family and life planning,’ says Allen. ‘The Codex approach not only provides the most likely diagnosis, it also charts the progression of rare diseases and bridges the gap between medical professions and patients. This means that with early diagnosis, a patient can plan ahead for life events like parenthood, or enrol in occupational therapy if needed.’

Allen and Aldrin have been able to extend Codex’s use into post-diagnosis cancer screening, leading to better disease management. In the near future, the duo will expand their laboratory to further reduce the turnaround time for tests and improve their industry accreditation ratings.

‘Winning the Spirit of Hong Kong Innovation Award has helped us to get more recognition and resources. It has increased public awareness of rare neurodegenerative diseases, and we hope it spurs even more innovations in the next wave of genetic screening,’ says Allen.

WHAT IS CODEX COGENESIS™ NEURO?

Diagnosing neurodegenerative disorders is technically challenging and time-intensive. CoGENESIS™ Neuro accelerates the diagnostic process by specifically targeting 462 neuro-related regions on the genome that are associated with 200 neurodegenerative diseases. This allows a highly accurate genetic profiling of all known neuro-disease regions with a fast turnover time of two months.

First, the patient’s saliva is obtained through the CoGensis test kit, which Codex Genetics sends to the patient or their clinician. Once the patient’s saliva is obtained, the sealed kit is returned to the Codex Genetics laboratory, where scientists isolate the patient’s DNA from the sample and perform high-throughput genetic screening. Through the analysis of the patient’s DNA sequencing, the Codex Genetics team is able to narrow down the possible range of diseases to the most likely one or two. The results are then sent to the patient’s clinician, who carries out validation tests to confirm a diagnosis.

By integrating genetic information gathered through big data techniques with clinical evidence such as MRI imaging, X-rays and ultrasounds, Codex screening produces more precise data; through this, it bridges the gaps between clinicians, specialists and patients to speed up the diagnostic process and enable more effective disease management.

See Further

Building a Smarter Future

Our path to the future is paved with technology. The Group is committed to supporting Hong Kong’s growth into an international innovation and technology hub, and is striving to foster a culture of innovation.

— Innovation

Read More »

Visionary Approach

‘Eyesight is essential to learning and personal growth. This project is conducive to children’s development and resonates with our vision of building a holistic innovation ecosystem to support Hong Kong’s growth in the long run’
— Daryl Ng, Chairman, Hong Kong Innovation Foundation

— Innovation

Read More »