用「心」治饌

新漢記是粉嶺人氣食肆,老闆蘇偉漢駐守該區幾十年,於 2019 年從聯和墟搬到現時所在的囍逸。

蘇偉漢是粉嶺社區的人氣王,他在該區經營食肆已經 20 年,每日都會去街市,選購新鮮食材。

「我喜歡凡事親力親為。」他是新漢記飯店的老闆,30 年來為不少名人炮製地道客家菜,連周潤發也是熟客。「我上街市購物,大家都會向我請教烹飪主意。我也喜歡結交朋友,跟他們分享經驗,我很樂在其中。」

蘇偉漢生於漁民家庭,年紀小小便和朋友在沿岸村落一起曬蝦乾和鹹魚,因而發現自己熱愛煮食,並開始鍛鍊廚藝,鑽研客家菜。

傳統客家菜來自華南地區,包括燉煮菜式和醃製用料,濃郁的味道特別適合下飯。

 店舖的玻璃幕牆,讓店內自然光充沛,再飾以在客家文化寓意好運的大紅燈籠,美不勝收。

「童年的家常菜都是我現在煮食的靈感。」他分享道。他的烹飪人生始於沙頭角大排檔,位於新界邊境。兩年後,他在區內開辦首間餐廳—漢記—經營約 10 年後,於 2000 年遷往粉嶺。

粉嶺店名為新漢記,駐守聯和墟 20 多年,其後於 2019 年再搬到鄰近的囍逸。「一開始我也有猶豫,因為搬遷所費不菲。」他憶述道。「可是那裡環境美觀又乾淨,讓我大為安心。」

毗鄰落成於 1951 年的聯和墟,囍逸是於 2018 年落成的時尚商住項目,與附近的社區融為一體。

與一般地舖相比,於有管理服務的物業設店有其獨特好處。「商場在晚上非常好看,十分適合做生意。」新舖能夠容納多達 90 人,他補充道:「高天花亦讓店面感覺更開揚舒適。」店舖的玻璃幕牆,讓店內自然光充沛,再飾以在客家文化寓意好運的大紅燈籠,美不勝收。

新址平衡傳統韻味與現代工藝,吸引了更多新的顧客,亦讓更多人認識客家菜。

「我剛遷入粉嶺時,市面已越來越少客家館子。」他說。客家菜於上世紀 60 年代最為興盛,與廣東菜同為本地中菜的中堅。他肩負起復興客家菜的使命,以個人特色演繹馳名客家菜式,以貼近香港人的口味,例如梅菜扣肉。

sun-hon-kee-exterior

囍逸提供寬敞開明的當代空間,而且面向大街

「炮製這道菜式時,我們只用新鮮豬腩肉,淋上 50% 濃度的米酒,再混合五香粉、豉油和糖調味,之後將豬腩肉清蒸三小時,帶出入口即化的口感。」他解釋說,並指出大部分食肆會選擇使用急凍豬肉,令口感特別油膩。「如果我找不到新鮮豬腩肉,我寧願不供應。」

魚也是客家菜的常見菜式,通常伴以高湯。為了確保食材新鮮,大廚選用本地水域的漁獲。「為了讓魚肉吸收高湯,我們先把它煎封,再以高熱燉煮,釋放魚的鮮味。我們不會加入粟粉,以免湯底過於濃稠,最後加上本地車厘茄便大功告成。」

優質用料加上用心製作,讓蘇偉漢贏得一群忠實的支持者。新漢記能夠繼續持續發展,全賴食客口耳相傳的口碑,所以蘇偉漢非常認真看待店內的用餐體驗,例如不限制用餐時間,指:「有些顧客會帶來昂貴的酒品,在店內坐上好幾小時,我也無任歡迎。」

和顧客打好關係也是他的強項。「我負責店內的公關!」蘇偉漢打趣說。「我喜歡和顧客聊天,親自介紹每道菜式。」他更指常客會把一切交給他決定。其中兩項最常見的大廚推介是鮮炒魷魚和梅菜扣肉。

而為了維持高水準,他打算一直駐守此地。「我喜歡在適合我的熟悉地區經營餐廳。」

粉嶺和豐街 28 號
囍逸商場地下 G01 號舖
新漢記

更多文章

創造文化空間

人氣書店集團誠品選址在西九龍的奧海城開設全新分店,這區結合現代與傳統文化,昔日全港數一數二的大同船塢曾坐落於此,現時是不少新興餐飲和尊尚住宅的所在地。

— 連繫社群

閱讀更多 »

Cooking from the Heart

Sun Hon Kee restaurant in Fanling is a firm local favourite, with owner So Wai Hon having been a fixture in the community for decades. The restaurant relocated from Luen Wo Market to upscale building Commune Modern in 2019

So Wai Hon is a popular face in the Fanling neighbourhood, not only because he has been running a restaurant in the area for two decades, but also because he visits nearby wet markets every day to source fresh ingredients for his kitchen.

‘I’m a very hands-on person,’ says the owner of Sun Hon Kee restaurant, a 30-year-old Hakka restaurant frequented by A-list celebrities including Chow Yun-fat. ‘When shopping in the market, I’m often approached by locals asking for cooking ideas. I like sharing and making friends with them. It makes me happy.’

Born into a fishing family, So found a natural love for cooking at an early age as he helped his friends in their coastal village to make delicacies like sun-dried shrimps and salted fish. It was then that he developed his skills in Hakka cooking.

Traditional Hakka cuisine, a culinary tradition from southern China, is characterised by braised dishes, stews and the use of preserved ingredients. Food is often strongly flavoured, as it is supposed to be served with rice.

 Surrounded by glass walls, the interior is light-filled and outfitted with lanterns in vibrant red, a hue endowed with good fortune for Hakka people.

‘My childhood memories of household dishes inspire the food I serve today,’ says So, who started his career with a street stall at a dai pai dong in Sha Tau Kok, a border village in the New Territories. Two years later, he opened his first restaurant in the area, called Hon Kee, which had operated for about a decade before it relocated to Fanling in 2000.

Rebranded as Sun Hon Kee (‘the new Hon Kee’), the shop in Fanling had operated for some 20 years from Luen Wo Market before relocating to the nearby Commune Modern in 2019. ‘I hesitated at first because moving is costly,’ So recalls, ‘but the nice property and clean surroundings calmed my nerves.’

Adjacent to Luen Wo Market, a historic building dating back to 1951, Commune Modern is an upscale residential and commercial project completed in 2018 that blends in with the established neighbourhood.

Operating from a managed retail property as opposed to a streetside store has its own unique benefits too. ‘The shopping mall looks especially nice at night, making it a good location for business,’ says So. ‘With a high ceiling, this space is much airier and more comfortable,’ he adds of the new premises, which can accommodate up to 90 guests. Surrounded by glass walls, the interior is light-filled and outfitted with lanterns in vibrant red, a hue endowed with good fortune for Hakka people.

With a tasteful balance of traditional charm and modern finishes, the new address has drawn more new customers and, as a result, more attention to Hakka food.

‘When I first settled in Fanling, the Hakka dining scene was in decline,’ So says, recalling the peak of Hakka cuisine in the sixties, when Hong Kong’s Chinese restaurant scene was largely made up of Guangdong and Hakka eateries. Thus, with a self-imposed task of bringing Hakka delicacies back to the table, So put his own spin on some of the most famous Hakka classics to cater to local tastes, like his dish of pork with salted vegetables.

The new airy, contemporary space in Commune Modern features broad street frontage.

‘We use only fresh pork belly for this dish, drizzled with rice wine that has 50 per cent alcohol and a mixture of five-spice powder, soy source and sugar. The pork belly is then steamed for three hours to bring out a sticky texture that melts in the mouth,’ says So, adding that most restaurants use frozen pork for the dish, which may result in a greasy texture. ‘If I don’t have fresh ingredients, I’d rather take a dish off the menu,’ he says.

Fish is also a common feature in Hakka cuisine, and is often served in broth. The chef uses local catch from Hong Kong waters to ensure freshness. ‘In order for the fish to absorb the broth, it’s first pan-fried and then braised on high heat to bring out the umami flavour. We don’t add cornflour, which makes the broth too thick, and we use local cherry tomatoes for the finishing touch.’ 

Top-quality ingredients and a thoughtful approach to food have earned So a strong base of loyal customers. With word-of-mouth being essential for business survival and growth, So takes the dining experience seriously. For example, he doesn’t limit seating times for guests, explaining that ‘Sometimes they like mingling for hours over expensive wines they bring. I welcome it.’

Building relationships with customers is also a strong suit. ‘I handle public relations here!’ jokes So. ‘I like to talk to my guests and introduce the dishes myself.’ Frequent customers, he adds, often leave it up to him to decide on the dishes. The two he most often recommends are stir-fried squid and, of course, pork with salted vegetables.

And to keep up his high standards, So intends to stay put. ‘I prefer to run my business in a familiar area that suits me,’ he concludes.

Sun Hon Kee
Shop G01, G/F, Commune Modern
28 Wo Fung Street
Fanling

See Further

Hong Kong Signature

For over four decades, Forum Restaurant has been serving fine Cantonese cuisine in Hong Kong, with patrons coming from both Hong Kong and overseas.

— Community

Read More »