推廣歷史文化 凝聚社區聯繫

「計劃為滿有抱負的青年領袖提供別具意義的平台,讓他們學習酒店業及文化保育相關的實用知識和專業技能,同時有助本地年青人體會香港獨特的歷史及文化,與社區建立聯繫,服務社會。目前面對全球挑戰,我們更加需要向年輕人傳遞正向價值,鼓勵他們欣賞多元傳統,為未來做好準備,並期待他們為大澳文物酒店及社區注入新動力。」
—— 香港歷史文物保育建設有限公司董事黃永光

非牟利機構香港歷史文物保育建設有限公司由黃氏家族成立,最近推出為期 1 年的酒店業青年領袖計劃,進一步推廣歷史和文化。計劃於 2020 年 7 月 15 日展開,為 10 位對行業充滿熱誠的本地大專院校畢業生提供有關可持續旅遊、酒店業及文化保育的寶貴培訓機會,包括在大澳文物酒店實習。

透過跨部門在職培訓,青年領袖將會學習實用技能和知識,他們亦會協助籌備一系列社區外展及交流活動,包括導賞團及節慶活動,向本地及海外訪客介紹大澳文物酒店的歷史價值及建築特色。在計劃完成前,青年領袖將彙報及分享他們對推廣大澳作為可持續旅遊熱點的構思。

本地畢業生馮凱晴是其中一位參加計劃的青年領袖,她說:「作為大澳原居民,漁村風貌和其獨特歷史一直令我著迷。生於斯,長於斯,我希望與大眾分享大澳的魅力。這計劃讓我有機會學習文物保育及酒店業的知識,不但加深我對行業的認識,亦令我更清楚未來事業發展的方向。」

旅遊業及會展管理學科畢業生麥俊謙是另一位參加者,他期望透過計劃加深了解大澳及其歷史價值。他說:「在這逆境時刻,我很珍惜是次機會。除了可以從中學習酒店管理的實用知識,還有機會學習向更多朋友推廣可續旅遊業及香港獨特魅力,支持社區發展。」

香港歷史文物保育建設有限公司將擁有 118 年歷史的二級歷史建築大澳警署活化,成為提供 9 間客房的大澳歷史文物酒店,於 2012 年 3 月開始營運。酒店以非牟利社會企業模式運作,將盈餘用於酒店保養,同時透過展示酒店歷史價值和推廣大澳作為生態旅遊熱點,支持大澳社區發展。酒店於 2013 年榮獲聯合國教科文組織(UNESCO)亞太區文物古蹟保護獎優異項目獎,成為香港首間獲頒 UNESCO 獎項的酒店。

www.taioheritagehotel.com

觀看短片:

更多文章

記取時代蛻變

信和集團、黃廷方慈善基金和歷史遺珍攝影基金會聯合呈獻《1950 年代攝影作品展:瑪喬麗 · 多格特鏡頭下的新加坡 李福志鏡頭下的香港》。

— 文化傳承

閱讀更多 »

Promoting Heritage, Culture & Community

‘This is a meaningful platform for aspiring young leaders to learn practical, professional skills about hospitality and conservation. It also helps Hong Kong youth to understand our unique Hong Kong history and culture, connect to the community and contribute to our society in a positive way. In a globally challenging time like this, it’s even more important to pass our positive values to the youth, help them to appreciate diverse traditions and prepare them for the future. I look forward to their contributions to the heritage hotel and community.’
— Daryl Ng, Director of the Hong Kong Heritage Conservation Foundation

The Hong Kong Heritage Conservation Foundation (HCF), a not-for-profit organisation set up by the Ng Family, has furthered its efforts to support heritage and culture with the launch of the Hospitality Young Leaders Programme. Commencing on 15 July 2020 and spanning one year, ten passionate graduates of Hong Kong universities and institutes have joined the meaningful programme to receive valuable training in sustainable tourism, hospitality, heritage and cultural conservation, including a stint at Tai O Heritage Hotel.

The participants will be able to equip themselves with practical knowledge through on-the-job training across departments. They will also support an array of community outreach and engagement activities, including docent tours and festivities to present the historical and architectural significance of the Hotel to local and overseas visitors. The one-year programme will conclude with a presentation by the young leaders to share their thoughts on promoting Tai O as a sustainable tourism destination.

Local graduate Cheryl Fung is one of the participants in the programme. ‘As a local resident, I’ve always enjoyed the enchanting fishing village and its unique history. I want to share the beauty of the place where I was born and raised with more people. This is a great opportunity to learn about heritage and hospitality — it will enable me to have a better understanding of the industry as well as clearer direction for my career development,’ she says.

Ronald Mak, a graduate of tourism and event management, is another participant who looks forward to gaining a better understanding of Tai O and its historical significance. ‘I treasure the opportunity in this challenging time. In addition to acquiring practical knowledge in hotel management, I can learn to promote sustainable tourism and the beauty of Hong Kong to a wider audience. I look forward to supporting the community,’ says Ronald.

The nine-room Tai O Heritage Hotel was revitalised and converted by the Hong Kong Heritage Conservation Foundation from the 118-year-old Old Tai O Police Station, a Grade II historic building, and commenced operation in March 2012. Operated as a not-for-profit social enterprise with surpluses channelled to support maintenance of the site, the hotel supports the Tai O community by showcasing the heritage significance of the building and promoting Tai O as an eco-tourism hotspot. The Hotel won the UNESCO Award for Merit at the 2013 Asia-Pacific Awards in Cultural Heritage Conservation, making it the first UNESCO-awarded hotel in Hong Kong.

www.taioheritagehotel.com

Watch a video:

See Further

A Defining Decade Remembered

Sino Group, the Ng Teng Fong Charitable Foundation and the Photographic Heritage Foundation are jointly presenting the exhibition Photographs from the 1950s: Marjorie Doggett’s Singapore, Lee Fook Chee’s Hong Kong.

— Heritage & Culture

Read More »