歷史與文化

悉尼富麗敦酒店瑰麗登場,為當地著名地標注入新活力,揭開新的篇章。
Banner 14
富麗敦酒店集團版圖擴至澳洲悉尼,將舊郵政總局大樓改建成為悉尼富麗敦酒店

富麗敦酒店集團致力保育歷史建築,同時延續傳奇故事。2001 年開業的新加坡富麗敦酒店,為昔日的郵政總局—量度新加坡各地的起點「 Mile Zero 」延續她的故事。

集團富麗敦品牌進軍國際,跨渡太平洋,為澳洲悉尼地標—前郵政總局大樓注入新動力。郵政大樓於 1874 年落成,其砂岩結構廣被認為是澳洲維多利亞時代文藝復興建築得意之作之一,曾被譽為「悉尼的巴黎鐵塔」。大樓的鐘樓和花崗岩拱廊間逾一個世紀以來皆是政治家和商旅聚集點。酒店位於悉尼的金融及時尚中心,信步可達其他著名地標,如悉尼歌劇院、悉尼皇家植物園及澳洲當代藝術博物館,是商務及休閒旅行的理想之選。

The Place 位於酒店別緻迷人的玻璃中庭,以新鮮食材及文化融會為烹飪宗旨,呈獻現代澳洲菜式及東南亞經典

為籌備於 2019 年 10 月開幕,富麗敦酒店集團邀請逾 30 位專業石匠,全面清洗大樓的砂岩外牆,過程並無採用任何化學物料,以妥善保存外牆的精細裝飾,此項重大任務歷時 9 個月,總工程時高達 38,000 小時。「悉尼富麗敦酒店的歷史源遠流長,我們竭盡所能,致力保育它的特色、文化和歷史,讓訪客能夠感受與眾不同的住宿體驗。」富麗敦酒店集團總經理 Cavaliere Giovanni Viterale 說。

富麗敦酒店為訪客和社區提供免費文化導賞團,從介紹大樓外牆的宏偉石雕藝術,看到有太空人在地球儀上指出澳洲所在、一個淘金者為淘到石英及金塊雀躍不已的雕刻,藉以分享酒店建築的精彩歷史,以及它於澳洲立國初期的重要地位。富麗敦之旅自推出而來廣受社區歡迎。

悉尼富麗敦酒店亦參與年度盛事 Sydney Open ,城中建築於週末開放予公眾參觀。酒店錄得逾 2,000 名參觀人次,成為到訪人次第二多的參與建築。

酒店其中一項重要使命是要支援關愛當地社區。2019 年 11 月 28 日,酒店邀請悉尼朋友出席溫馨的聖誕亮燈儀式,見證掛滿可愛富麗敦泰廸熊的聖誕樹亮起郵日的美妙。酒店其中一項社會外展服務是與當地慈善機構 The Girls and Boys Brigade 合作,為期兩年,透過財務支援及精心設計的活動,為當地青少年提供由酒店員工主持的工作坊及培訓班。

信和酒店翻新大樓的砂岩外牆,此項重大工程歷時 9 個月,讓其恢復昔日的動人光彩,與市中心黃金地段互相輝映

悉尼富麗敦酒店亦設頂尖餐飲選擇。The Place 位於酒店別致迷人的玻璃中庭,華麗裝潢為休閒午膳或晚餐增添品味。餐廳秉持澳洲及紐西蘭兩地飲食的精粹,以新鮮食材及文化融薈為烹飪宗旨,悉心炮製美食佳餚,包括現代澳洲菜式如香煎紅斑伴燉和牛肋骨,以及東南亞經典如海南雞飯、泰式咖哩雞和海鮮喇沙。

英式下午茶向來是富麗敦傳統之一,現由 The Bar 傳承,從豐富的 TWG 茶葉選擇,以至融入東方心思的英式經典小食,招牌開胃菜式包括東方龍蝦脆筒、法式鴨肉醬芝麻包、煙三文魚拿破崙伴魚子醬朱古力心太軟、英式鬆餅和班蘭林明頓蛋糕。愛酒之人可以一嚐 Singapore Sling 或 Sydney Sling ,以洛神花、薑、血橙和青檸滋味,重新演繹經典雞尾酒。

中庭景色怡人,造就高尚用餐體驗
文化保育是酒店的使命,除了致力保存建築特色如華麗的樓梯,更特設富麗敦體驗計劃,提供免費文化導賞團及活動,讓酒店住客及公眾都能認識酒店的歷史
行人天橋將舊郵政總局大樓和當代建築連接起來

同慶佳節

聖誕是普天同慶及傳揚關愛的節日,悉尼富麗敦酒店秉承新加坡富麗敦酒店的傳統,於 2019 年 11 月 28 日舉辦首屆聖誕慈善活動,除了現場詩歌和魔術表演,更設東西美食盛宴,與社區人士共度難忘歡樂的晚上。

當地慈善機構 The Girls and Boys Brigade 專為弱勢青少年提供安全的避風港,一眾兒童獲邀參與溫馨的聖誕亮燈儀式,於前郵政總局的大堂見證掛滿可愛富麗敦泰廸熊的聖誕樹揭幕。其後,大家聚首酒店頂級餐廳 The Place ,享用由富麗敦酒店集團總經理 Cavaliere Giovanni Viterale 和悉尼富麗敦酒店總經理 Mark Burns 先生聯手主理的盛宴。他們精心炮製各自的拿手菜式,包括蜆肉闊條麵和新加坡咖哩雞。最後,每位賓客均獲贈聖誕禮品,包括手作聖誕曲奇、泰廸熊和精美富麗敦皮革筆記本,總結歡樂的一晚。

更多文章

記取時代蛻變

信和集團、黃廷方慈善基金和歷史遺珍攝影基金會聯合呈獻《1950 年代攝影作品展:瑪喬麗 · 多格特鏡頭下的新加坡 李福志鏡頭下的香港》。

— 文化傳承

閱讀更多 »

Living Heritage

The opening of The Fullerton Hotel Sydney is a new beginning for a much-loved landmark, and for the cityscape.
Banner 14
The Fullerton Hotels and Resorts has expanded its portfolio to Sydney with the opening of The Fullerton Hotel Sydney, housed in the city’s iconic former General Post Office

A t the heart of The Fullerton Hotels and Resorts is a dedication to preserving heritage buildings and their stories. The 2001 opening of The Fullerton Hotel Singapore heralded a new chapter for the city’s former General Post Office that served as ‘Mile Zero’ for addresses in Singapore.

Now the brand has crossed the Pacific with the opening of The Fullerton Hotel Sydney, breathing new life into one of Australia’s heritage icons: Sydney’s former General Post Office. Completed in 1874, the majestic sandstone structure is regarded as one of Australia’s finest examples of Victorian Italian Renaissance architecture, and was once as synonymous with Sydney as the Eiffel Tower is with Paris. Its grand clock tower and vaulted granite arcades have long been points of rendezvous for politicians and well-heeled travellers. Situated in the heart of the city’s finance and fashion districts, it is a short walk from other landmarks such as the Sydney Opera House, the Royal Botanic Garden and the Museum of Contemporary Art Australia, making it the ideal destination for a business or leisure trip.

In the soaring glass atrium, destination restaurant The Place showcases fresh produce and fusion flavours through a menu of modern Australian cuisine and signature Southeast Asian dishes

In preparation for the hotel’s October 2019 opening, The Fullerton Hotels and Resorts has engaged more than 30 stonemasons to carry out a meticulous, chemical-free clean of the building’s ornate sandstone facade; the remediation works took 38,000 hours over nine months. ‘The hotel has a rich history, which we plan to conserve and showcase so that guests can enjoy a hospitality experience steeped in character, culture and heritage,’ says Cavaliere Giovanni Viterale, General Manager of The Fullerton Hotels and Resorts.

In keeping with this mandate, The Fullerton Hotel Sydney offers complimentary heritage tours to guests and members of the community. Designed to share the building’s fascinating history and the key role it played in Australia’s early life, the tours highlight the building’s intricate stonework. The carvings feature an astronomer marking Sydney’s position on a globe and a gold digger excitedly pointing to a chunk of quartz and gold. The tours are already drawing crowds.

The hotel also takes part in the Sydney Open, an annual weekend-long architecture festival that encourages the community to explore the city’s significant buildings. More than 2,000 visitors flocked to The Fullerton Hotel Sydney to discover its fabled past, making it the second-most visited building in the festival.

Engaging the local community is at the core of the new hotel’s mission. On 28 November 2019, Sydneysiders and guests were invited to a heart-warming Christmas light-up celebration, where a tree adorned with Fullerton teddy bears was unveiled amid carols and complimentary Christmas goodies. As part of its social responsibility outreach, The Fullerton Hotels and Resorts has entered into a two-year partnership with local charity The Girls and Boys Brigade. The partnership includes financial support as well as tailored programmes to engage young people in hospitality workshops and training sessions conducted by hotel staff.

Owner Sino Hotels undertook a nine-month remediation project on the hotel’s stone facade, now restored to its full glory and befitting of its prime central location 

When it comes to dining, destination restaurant The Place, located in the hotel’s impressive glass atrium, provides a striking setting for a relaxed lunch or a dinner in style. Its culinary tenets feature fresh produce and fusion flavours, the two pillars of Antipodean cuisine, with a menu that offers modern Australian dishes like pan-seared red emperor and braised Wagyu short rib, alongside signature Southeast Asian dishes such as Singapore chicken rice, Thai chicken curry and seafood laksa. The Fullerton tradition of afternoon tea will take up permanent residency at The Bar, with an extensive list of TWG teas and a menu that offers an Eastern twist on British classics. Signature hors d’oeuvres like lobster cornet a l’Oriental, duck rillettes in a sesame bun and smoked salmon millefeuille with caviar precede decadent chocolate moelleux, scones and pandan lamingtons. Those seeking a tipple can enjoy a Singapore Sling or a Sydney Sling — a zesty reinvention of the classic that features flavours of hibiscus, ginger, blood orange and lime.
The atrium makes for a striking setting for lunch or dinner
Heritage forms a major part of the hotel’s DNA, not only in physical features such as the grand staircase, but in the Fullerton Experiences, a bespoke programme featuring complimentary heritage tours and events for both hotel guests and members of the public
A footbridge connects the heritage General Post Ofce building with the contemporary structure at the rear

FESTIVE CHEER

In the spirit of caring and giving, The Fullerton Hotel Sydney hosted a memorable Christmas celebration for the community on 28 November 2019. Live carols, festival magic and a mouth-watering fusion banquet were just some of the highlights of the hotel’s inaugural Christmas celebration held for charity, a tradition begun at The Fullerton Hotel Singapore and continuing at the Grand Dame of Sydney.

Children from The Girls and Boys Brigade, a local organisation that provides a safe haven for underprivileged youth, were invited to partake in a heart-warming Christmas light-up ceremony, where a tree adorned with Fullerton teddy bears was unveiled in the lobby of the storied former General Post Office. The merrymaking was followed by a sumptuous feast at the hotel’s destination restaurant, The Place, where Cavaliere Giovanni Viterale, General Manager of The Fullerton Hotels and Resorts, and Mark Burns, General Manager of The Fullerton Hotel Sydney, donned chefs’ hats to whip up an array of their favourite dishes, including papardelle with clams and Singaporean chicken curry. The merry evening concluded on a cheerful note, with each guest gifted festive goodies including homemade Christmas cookies, teddy bears and a beautiful leather-bound Fullerton notebook.